The Importance of Balance for a Successful Life

After a long weekend at Coachella Music Festival in Indio, California, I find myself reflecting on the importance of leading a balanced lifestyle. We all have passions and hobbies, as well as personal and professional goals, and all of these things compete daily for our time and attention. Sometimes it becomes easier to just forget about our responsibilities and do those things that make us happy; we jump first and worry about the consequences later. While this can be an exciting way to live for a while, eventually all of our decisions will catch up to us and we need to be ready to face the music when they do.

Trying to live a balanced lifestyle is probably one of the hardest goals anyone can strive for. Juggling work, school, the gym, eating right and all of your other wants and needs on top of it is a daunting task. However, the biggest challenges are usually the most rewarding, and nothing worthwhile is usually very easy to accomplish. To live a successful life, you first need to define what successful means to you and set goals and guidelines as a means to achieve those objectives. It’s also important to keep in mind that life never stops moving and you will probably never stop changing, and that means your goals and aspirations will change, too. Re-evaluating your goals regularly and accepting change as a natural process will set you up for success.

balanceThis semester has been one of the biggest growing experiences of my life. I’ve changed my major, my graduation date, my career path, and my living situation all in a few short months. It’s been painful, hard, scary, and thrilling all at the same time. I’ve learned to accept uncertainty and am slowly adjusting to a life full of twists and turns. Deviating off of the common path is not for everyone, and I certainly didn’t envision it in my life plan, but I have faith that it will be one of the most rewarding things I ever do for myself.

With that, I challenge you to lay your life out in front of you and dedicate the amount of time you need to each of the things that are important in your life. Balance business with pleasure and your stress will begin to fade away.

Photo Credit: achievebalance.com

Leave a Reply

